I woke up to pain

I woke up to pain. My right pointing finger was slightly swollen and red. There looked like a bite or scratch mark of some sort. I puzzled over this for a bit, but could not recall what exactly happened. So I got out of bed and went on with my day.

I returned home from the market. I slowly put the things I bought to their proper places. The cat was being annoying, blocking my path while walking. So I grabbed that little adorable monster bastard by the scruff of his neck and placed him outside the kitchen door. After having completed these tasks, I stood frozen in the hallway on the way to my room. I could not remember whether I have fed the dog or not. This really bothered me, and so for several minutes I just stood there.

Then one detail I dredged up from my rusting memory chamber clarified things. I remember looking at the dog’s water bowl and it was bright. Meaning, it was morning when I fed the dog, meaning that I indeed have fed the dog that morning. So I unfroze and continued to my room to rest for a bit. I haven’t had a decent amount of sleep last night, and so this must be the reason why I’m functioning more sub-optimal than usual.

While lying down, and looking at things on the internet. I remembered what happened with my finger. Last night while I was sleeping, I woke into half-consciousness because I was uncomfortable. It turned out I slept on my right hand and I couldn’t feel it, it was numb. So in a somewhat panicky state, my half-asleep brain decided that the right thing to do is to bite onto that hand to kill the numbness.

About kara

I just like to read. Used to work in a library. My interests are horror and the gothic imagination, absurd and dark humor, urban legends, and other related unwholesome topics. I write short fiction sometimes. Older stuff: https://www.scribd.com/user/93209/narodnikkki
This entry was posted in nonfiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

