Car Trip

“Don’t change the radio.”

“I won’t”

“I said don’t do it.”

“I’m just going to find something good.”

“That song was good.”

“That song was trite derivative bullshit.”

“Oh so you’re a song expert now?”

“You don’t have to be a song expert you know. You just have to have taste.”

“I have taste.”

“Hey, slow down. What is that?”

“What?”

“Oh, I thought I saw something.”

“Could it be a ghost?”

“Stop, don’t even go there, man.”

“Oh.”

“Oh, what?”

“It’s just you know, I’ve heard stories about this place.”

“Don’t man, shut up.”

“A long time ago, a young woman was found dead here. I don’t know the exact place, but it was somewhere here. It wasn’t like this then. It was just a narrow road with tall grass on both sides. They said she was a college student and she was chopped into pieces and …”

“Fuck you.”

“Hey, okay okay, I’m sorry.”

“Jesus Christ.”

“Okay, no more ghost story.”

“You did not see that?”

“See what?”

“I swear I saw …”

***

The bodies of two college-aged males were found two days later. Their car was hidden in a grassy secluded spot near the intersection of the new highway. They were chopped up cleanly. Heads and limbs were separated from torsos. The limbs were separated by the joints. There were no signs of struggle.

About kara

I just like to read. Used to work in a library. My interests are horror and the gothic imagination, absurd and dark humor, urban legends, and other related unwholesome topics. I write short fiction sometimes. Older stuff: https://www.scribd.com/user/93209/narodnikkki
This entry was posted in fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

