Memories of Meow-meow

Where are you Meow-meow. Where are you now. I wouldn’t say I miss you, it’s just I feel slightly melancholic recalling all those times, which feels so ancient now, that we had. There is nothing special about this either. It’s more of a personal selfish thing, if anything. I keep pulling out fragments of memories so I could re-arrange them into something useful for my narratives. It’s very practical, exploitative even. But can you really exploit yourself? Am I using this word correctly? Probably not. Well Meow-meow, just so you know, I started calling you thus in order to protect your identity. It intrigued my friends. They ask, ‘why do you call her Meow-meow?’ I reply, ‘because her name is Kat.’ Short for Katherine. Where are you now, Katherine? I hope you are doing fine.

We speculated you must be a tomboy. And that, I added, you must be struggling within the confines of your faith with this confused feelings of yours. I imagined you having feelings with this girl in our class. A beautiful girl. Very what they would call, ‘kikay.’ Really smart too. She studies chemical engineering. Years later, I would find out she passed the board exams in that field with great marks. You had the macho vocabulary to go with the attitude: ‘tol, tsong, pare, bro.’ What I gathered from local sources was that you were very religious. You were a member of this ultra-hardcore religious youth group in the campus. So in my imaginary fictional world I see you struggling with this feelings that you have because it is wrong, they say, it must not be, it is the ‘love that dare not speak its name.’ Speculations, speculations Meow-meow, please forgive me. We were bored and trying to pass the time making up stories in between moments of intense study sessions for quizzes and exams.

One of these stories involved you developing a robot to fight the forces of evil. The evil is vague. It could be something like ‘the postmodern condition.’ Or ‘the creeping secularism that is eroding away the Christian core of our nation.’ The people are powerless to stop the onslaught of all these evils. They have gone lazy and weak through watching noontime television shows featuring semi-naked dancing voluptuous nubile young women. They have turned their brains into pink jelly listening to celebrities who can’t sing blunt-force their way into the collective eardrums. Super Meow-meow beam to all these people. Ultra-electromagnetic meow-meow yo-yo to counter the forces of oppression. It always ends with your triumph for I have always believed in you. Meow-meow-bot standing triumphant atop the bloodied forces of evil. Sun shining behind her, the yellow-orange rays radiating outwards filling the spaces of the world.

About kara

I just like to read. Used to work in a library. My interests are horror and the gothic imagination, absurd and dark humor, urban legends, and other related unwholesome topics. I write short fiction sometimes. Older stuff: https://www.scribd.com/user/93209/narodnikkki
This entry was posted in fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

