Cheap Aesthetics

Cheap Aesthetics

I went to the mall three weeks ago. I bought this packet of blades called Dorco for 36 pesos. Since starting to wet shave using a double-edge razor, I have been only using Gillette blades. I still get cut every now and then, and I am trying to find out the reason why. One could be that I am using low-quality blades. So I bought these Dorco Platinum blades. That was my reasoning.

Image

I still have been unable to find any metal double-edged razor. The black plastic Gillette one is cheap but light, like it does not have any body or solidity. What I like about it is the idea of a cheap plastic thing being used in what is currently being perceived as a ‘classy’ act – that of double-edged wet shaving. I am thinking of wabi-sabi, how this can be applied. That is, it isn’t the material, but how it is used. I’ve read that stone, wood and metal are wabi materials. Can plastic be considered wabi material? In some aesthetic circles, there is an abhorrence against the use of plastic. It is seen as artificial and fake. It is associated with cheap mass-production techniques. But in the modern world, stone and metal and wood are more associated with the rich and the influential than the poor. The poor use plastic things because it is cheap. There is no artifice, no aesthetic feeling there. They use it because they have no other choice.

In William Gibson’s ‘All Tomorrow’s Parties,’ there is an assassin character there that follows the Tao. He has a boss, but the relationship is unusual – sometimes he obeys, sometimes he disobeys. But whenever he does a job, he does it efficiently, not a wasted movement. The only connection really that I can think of between bringing this character up and with this whole write-up, is that I am talking about blades. Konrad the assassin uses a blade, a short Japanese sword/knife. I on the other hand have been using cheap mass-produced Gillette blades in my cheap, mass-produced plastic double-edged razor.

About kara

I just like to read. Used to work in a library. My interests are horror and the gothic imagination, absurd and dark humor, urban legends, and other related unwholesome topics. I write short fiction sometimes. Older stuff: https://www.scribd.com/user/93209/narodnikkki
This entry was posted in nonfiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

