Musings on the Rebel Character

The rebel character. He’s supposed to be old and grizzled
but still tenacious and effective as a technical expert on guerrilla
warfare, but I can’t see him. He’s trained hundreds if not thousands
of fighters, and participated in numerous raids, so he must be pretty
well-known in the movement. What was his motivation? How did he end
up in the movement? Maybe he has an alias, an animal alias, which would
be apt since he spends most of his time in the forests. Maybe ‘Monkey.’
His technique is high-altitude sniping? Is this even possible with
regards to guerrila warfare? I can imagine him sitting huddled atop
a huge branch of a tree, just within the canopy line. He positioned
himself there for an ambush. They lured the enemy troops in that spot,
then he picked the soldiers in bunches by throwing grenades at them.
Those who escaped the grenades and bombs, he shot at one by one. Is he
a master rifleman? Maybe. Maybe not. DOes it matter? So he is
codename monkey. Is he serious? Does he have a sense of humor? The
monkey is not a technical man. He is a primate and is quite primitive
in his sense of justice. He goes more by feeling rather than ideology
to justify his actions. Thus he can easily be lumped into the revisionist
camp. He slips and plummets to his death. THese are his thoughts while
falling down: The sky is blue. It is so cold. Why is it so loud. Am
I screaming? But I’m not done yet. THere are still so many things to do.
I can’t die yet. He is known as ‘the Monkey.’ He is good at climbing
trees. His particular specialty is climbing coconut trees. Just for
fun one day, they timed his ascent of a twenty-meter tall coconut. He
reached the top with the coconut bunch in just one minute and three
seconds. I don’t really picture him because I don’t believe in him.
I don’t believe in people like him. I don’t believe they truly exist.
Or maybe they exist, but I don’t want to believe in them. Do I have
to sympathize with my character? If you’re a veteran revolutionary,
what would your reason for continuing the fight be besides the
party programme which has remained unchanged for decades? It’s
impossible for me to understand that level of commitment. It’s
inhuman. It’s just monstrous. It’s robotic.

About kara

I just like to read. Used to work in a library. My interests are horror and the gothic imagination, absurd and dark humor, urban legends, and other related unwholesome topics. I write short fiction sometimes. Older stuff: https://www.scribd.com/user/93209/narodnikkki
This entry was posted in fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

